The World On My Doorstep

An ever-expanding postcard blog

From My Nutty Grandma

on February 15, 2012

Just like so many people’s I’m sure, my Grandma is a little bit mad. Well, very mad, always has been, always will be. And its a very endearing trait. So receiving a postcard of the Macclesfield Canal out of the blue in 2010 was not a huge surprise. However, on the back of the postcard she tells me, not about Macclesfield Canal, but how a programme she is watching is discussing the Manchester Ship Canal (cue multiple facts you never knew about it, cited as though you do… “which, as you know is approximately half a mile from the (Duke of) Bridgewater Canal…” as someone who has never lived in or even near the area, I wonder why I would know such a fact). After many more obscure facts, she signs off, leaving me unsure as to what the original purpose of this postcard was!

Leave a Reply

