The World On My Doorstep

An ever-expanding postcard blog

Dracula’s Castle

on September 28, 2012

This card comes from Raluca and is my first from Romania. Strangely, I received her address at random on Postcrossing then a couple of days later she coincidentally asked me to swap! So I was lucky enough to get this card showing Bran Castle, more infamously known as Dracula’s Castle. Raluca has really kindly explained the history of the place to me – apparently there was a fiercely sadistic ruler who lived there in medieval times who would run spears through his enemies (mostly Turks). She also tells me that ‘Drac’ means devil in Romanian. Awesome card! Love it!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

