The World On My Doorstep

An ever-expanding postcard blog

Sendai City At Night

on January 23, 2013

SendaiThis beautiful card comes from Sheluna in Japan and shows Senai City at night. She starts the card off by calling me Gabriella (erm… I have had many mistaken spellings of my name in the past, but ‘Gabriella’?!) but goes on to tell me that the city is famous in Japan for having many trees and that in Japanese it is called “The City of the Forest” – fascinating! She also gives me some really interesting information about the city – the castle was built by Lord Masamune Date in the 17th Century which led to the growth of the city around it. Now it has a population of over one million and Sheluna tells me she loves it there. Beautiful card!

Leave a Reply

