The World On My Doorstep

An ever-expanding postcard blog

A New Contender in “The Awful Postcards” Competition!

on February 4, 2013

HAVietnamAfter receiving Ruhan’s tortoise card the other day, I thought I’d seen the craziest postcard image, but now I’m not so sure! My lovely friend Maija, who is currently travelling in Vietnam, sent me this bizarre card with NO warning! You can just imagine how hard I laughed when I saw this! There are so many strange aspects to this image – I mean, the cow, for starters, being transported on a bike, but also the rider’s attire! And the thinness of the wheels! I mean, it truly is a cultural image, but how did it ever become postcard material?! Maija tells me Vietnam is seriously fast-paced and energetic with beautiful scenery and that the contrast between North and South still remains stark, even today, so she likes the middle best, in an atmospheric town called Hoi An where she has learned to cross crazily busy streets and has enjoyed delicious food and amazing coffee, but has drawn the line at learning Vietnamese (she says it’s too hard). I am seriously jealous of her trip, it seems like she’s had an amazing time.

To my utter surprise, despite her forgetting to put ‘Guernsey’ or ‘Channel Islands’ in the address, this card reached me and I can’t help but think that if I put Ha Noi (but no Vietnam) on a card in Guernsey and sent it there, it likely wouldn’t arrive. That is serious efficiency on behalf of the Vietnamese post! Awesome card!

5 responses to “A New Contender in “The Awful Postcards” Competition!

  1. Nicky Parker says:

    And new from World of Leather: the Sofa on Wheels, known affectionately as the La-Z-Cow…

  2. Nicky Parker says:

    And anyway, Dad’s riposte is just plain sexist. He suggests:
    ‘Vietnamese man takes wife for a ride.’

  3. […] on my doorstep but they were soon given a run for their money by Maija’s Vietnamese ‘cow-to-the-abattoir‘ card. Now, this card perhaps beats them both and this cow is definitely alive and […]

Leave a Reply

