The World On My Doorstep

An ever-expanding postcard blog

A Poster-Card!

on March 19, 2013

zulupotThis card, showing a Zulu pot comes from Ruhan in South Africa after he went on a trip to Cape Town. It took the best part of a month to reach me due to an illegal postal strike in his country, but eventually it made it! This card is enormous! It is about A5 size! Ruhan says he doesn’t know what to write to fill the space and I don’t blame him. Despite its size though, he tells me it only cost the equivalent of 6p!! Wow! He has chosen it as part of the awful postcard challenge, but I don’t think it’s that bad, just a little plain. Also, for the size of the card, you’d think they’d at least show two pots! However Ruhan manages to give me a little lesson on South African history as he tells me that the date he sent it on (11 February) marks exactly 23 years since Nelson Mandela was released. Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

