The World On My Doorstep

An ever-expanding postcard blog

The Sami

on April 10, 2013

SamiWhen I got back from my holiday, I couldn’t believe how lucky I was to have so many gorgeous postcards and this one was definitely a favourite! All the way from Kari in Norway, it shows the Sami people, who, she tells me, are indigenous to the Sapmi area in the northernmost parts of Norway, Sweden, Finland and Kola (Russia). She also explains that this photo was taken in Finnmark (Norway) and that Sami is an official language in some municipalities and she thinks it should be taught in schools. Wonderful card and it’s always so interesting when people take time to explain things! I love it!

Leave a Reply

