The World On My Doorstep

An ever-expanding postcard blog

Venezuela’s Astonishingly Slow Postal System

on June 30, 2013

VenezuelaWaterfallSome of you may remember my longest travelled postcard, sent by Luis in Venezuela last year and taking 246 days to arrive with me. During that time, I messaged him to let him know I hadn’t received the card and on December 7th last year, he posted me this beauty which arrived on June 6th. That’s 182 days. ONE HUNDRED AND EIGHTY TWO. Impressive. Anyway, I sent him another card as a thanks for sending a second to me. This beauty shows Angel Falls – the highest waterfall in the world at 979 metres. It’s amazing and I love it! Luis tells me that it is located in the Canaima National Park which was declared a World Heritage Site in 1994. Spectacular card, and what a voyage it took to reach me!

2 responses to “Venezuela’s Astonishingly Slow Postal System

  1. renndiddo says:

    Your post made me giggle. The only time I’ve posted something to Venezuela, a t-shirt for my brother, it got lost. Well I think it’s lost, after reading your post maybe it’ll still get there some day, it’s been about two years. As for the previously knows as ‘Angel Falls’, I’ve never been there but my wife has and swears it is one of the most spectacular sights on Earth; I believe her. Thanks for the post.

    • mailmon says:

      Hahaha! Glad to hear it’s not just me… maybe it will arrive some day and by the time it does it’ll be totally random and/or won’t fit anymore, but will be a keepsake just for it’s memories 😀

      Thanks for commenting, glad you liked the post!

Leave a Reply

