The World On My Doorstep

An ever-expanding postcard blog

A House-Warming Card

on July 21, 2013

VintageBuckinghamIf you were wondering about my recent absence from WordPress (which I doubt you even noticed, but just in case…), it’s because I’ve been in the process of moving house. The chores, the hardwork, the lack of postcards and change of address, not to mention the lack of internet has all combined into a ‘not updating regularly’ fiasco which has resulted in this sudden publishing of all my hoarded cards over the past few weeks! This one arrived the other day from my mum in England as a housewarming card showing Buckingham Palace, it’s another from my grandparents’/great-grandparents’ collection that was never posted and that I’m slowly receiving and my mum guesses (from the girl’s white miniskirt and boots) it’s from the 1960s. I’d say she’s probably right! She wishes us happy times in our new flat and starts an A A Milne poem before realising (in the way only mums can) that she has quoted the wrong poem and meant to start one about Buckingham Palace and not one about a missing person.

Side note: Mum, if you’re reading this, I think you meant to start “They’re changing guards at Buckingham Palace”, not “James James Morrison Morrison Wetherby George Dupree.”

Side side note: Mum, it’s Morrison, not Robinson.

Got to love mums!

2 responses to “A House-Warming Card

  1. Nicky Parker says:

    Don’t forget:
    The Pobble who has no toes
    Had once as many as we
    … … (???) … …
    For his Aunt Jobisca made him drink
    Lavendar water tinged with pink
    and she said “The world in general knows
    There’s nothing so good for a Pobble’s toes!”

    And right now Dad and I are drinking a glass of rose and laughing at your post…

    XXX Mum XXX

Leave a Reply

