The World On My Doorstep

An ever-expanding postcard blog

A Vintage Kenyan Card

on August 21, 2013

postcardsFrom my mum’s collection of vintage postcards from around the world comes this one showing a Kenyan Masai girl (I think it’s a girl, but if I’m being horribly offensive or presumptuous here, do feel free to correct me!). My mum sent it in a parcel with some tights I’d asked her to send as she said it might ‘offer me alternative thoughts re leg-coverings’, well, they’re definitely beautiful! That being said, however, neither my mum nor I are particularly sure on the very colonial caption ‘East African Types’… hmmm… apparently it was part of a series of cards called “Africa in pictures” too. Well, regardless, it makes a lovely addition to my collection!

Leave a Reply

